Hey! What’s going on here?

by Stone Semyorka

There’s an emerging society with millions of residents displaying personalities, spawning controversies, and generating innovations. Together, they have cultural identity, social norms and a loose-knit global organization. As in real life, cultural expression is of the utmost importance to the residents of Second Life.

stonesprofileportrait.jpg
That’s where I come in, tracing the society and culture, politics and economics of Second Life. The intertwining of the lives of people, both public and private.

I have seen in this extraordinary virtual realm the full range of emotions: joy, gratification, interest, elation, good humor, happiness, pride and pleasant surprise, but also there is sadness, fear, anger, guilt, frustration, aggressiveness, stress, irritation, shock, disgust, helplessness, indifference, anxiety, boredom, contempt, disgust, panic and shame. Of course, there also is neutrality, pondering and reflecting. You name it, it’s in-world.

What’s my plan?

I will trace the society and culture of Seconds Life and tell you what I find. I’m going to fly the sunny skies, dive in the warm oceans, hike the cool mountain trails and walk the warm sands on our countless beaches in search of optimism and openness.

But, I also am going to lift up the rocks to see what lies underneath, look to see what scurries in the dark corners, climb down in the cesspools to see what floats there. If it’s in-world, I will find it and tell you about it.

SL residents successfully complete a vast amount of creative and useful work. I will write about those triumphs and exciting moments as well as failures and tense times.

I’m going to look for patterns, connections, hidden information and stimulating ideas.

Point of view

Even though I am in-world, I will hold firmly to an outsider’s skepticism and the professional’s belief that the ordinary residents of Second Life need complete information. If there’s an interesting story in-world, I will find it and tell you about it.

Leave a Reply

